Motivation (or lack of)

I am in a bit of a slump. For the past few months I have run about 3-4 times a week for at least 9km a time, slightly longer on Sundays. But this month (Feburary) the wheels have fallen off. I have had only four runs this month, and although today is a another beautiful late Summer/early Autumn day, I just do not feel like going out. I shouldn’t be too hard on myself – I had an ankle injuryI was nursing in the first part of the month, and last week had a 24hr vomiting bug which left me pretty weak for a few days. But now I feel fine, yet I cannot be bothered. Perhaps it is the timing. During the week I run in my lunch break. I can comfortably fit the run in, but then I have to work at my desk in my sweaty running gear, whilst cooling down enough to be able to take a shower. At the moment it all just seems like too much hassle. Ideally I would run early in the morning but getting family ready for school etc puts a stop to that. I have a new pair of shoes which I thought would help with the motivation, but I couldn’t care less about them at the moment. I think I need to sign up for an event which might force me to get out on these low days. I have my eye on my first marathon, however it is not until September and that just seems too far away to worry about. I did set myself a ‘goal’ on my runkeeper of 1500km this year in order to keep motivated. However, I am well behind (9% done after about 15% of the year gone), but I’ve got plenty of time to catch up, right?

 

My 2013 Distance Goal

My 2013 Distance Goal

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

